Cranberry Betties

Mom started making these when I was around 12. They’ve been a family staple ever since.

Ingredients:
3 cups sifted flour [Note: I use self-rising flour, leave out the baking soda and cut the salt down to a scant teaspoon.]
2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp salt
1 cup chopped nuts (usually pecans)
5 cups uncooked quick rolled oats
3 cups brown sugar, firmly packed
2 cups shortening, melted [Note: I use melted butter. The bars tend to be nicely chewy regardless, and I like the flavor. Plus I’m way more likely to have butter on hand than shortening.]
2 16 oz cans cranberry sauce, with whole berries [You could spend the time making a gourmet sauce at home if you like. But as one of the nice things about this recipe is a 10 minute prep. time, that seems like overkill.]

Equipment: 1 good size baking pan (I use the one that I usually use for lasagna, but I’ve never measured it), greased.

To do:
Pre-heat oven to 350. Mix all the dry ingredients. Add the melted shortening and stir. Press half the mixture into the bottom of the pan. Spread the cranberry sauce on top of the mixture. Sprinkle the remaining mixture on top of the sauce and press lightly. Bake for 60 minutes, checking after 45 or so for doneness. (Mom’s recipe says 25-35 minutes, but that’s never worked for me. Maybe it’s the butter? Edit: if you use a longer, shallower pan such as a cookie sheet, 25-35 min is about right.) Cool, cut into pieces (I usually go for 1″X 2″), serve. This keeps in a sealed container for several days.

Leave a comment